fbpx

SPEAKING INTO EXISTENCE EP

Calvin Stone is a 31-year-old US hip hop artist from Columbus, Ohio. Michi Dreilich is a 29-year-old drummer and beatmaker from Munich. The duo began making music together in early June 2020, after the murder of George Flyod and the protests that followed, in order to process the events in a song. THE WATER was released as the first joint track on 31.7.2020 via Munich Warehouse. This was followed by THE BELLS (released 23.10.2020) and PRESSURE (released 4.12.2020), the third single of the American-German collaboration.
The two met through YouTube in 2017. Born and raised in Columbus Ohio, Stone is influenced by a reality of drug abuse and gun violence and finds in music and lyrics a way to process what he has seen, leaving the listener with little choice but to listen away with his reporting and interesting wordplay.
Besides his main job as a session musician and permanent member of the German alternative rock band Blackout Problems, Michi Dreilich's beats, which originate in studios, rehearsal rooms or as voice memos, were now brought to life and completed with Calvin Stone's vocals. A common vibe was quickly formed and Calvin's rhythmically to the point and urgent rhythms found their place on straightforward and distorted sample beats. The production and mixing was done by band mate Mario Radetzky (Songwriter / Producer / Blackout Problems).

The title of the EP is speaking into existence. What does not yet exist is created. There are no boundaries. Neither in terms of genres, instruments or continents. Although the distance is great and seems to be insurmountable at the time of Corona, with this collaboration they want to show that a common creative work cannot be hindered by a ban on entering the country. As soon as it is feasible again in good conscience a small Germany / Europe tour is on the wishlist of the duo. Another thing that seems unthinkable at the moment but maybe will be possible someday. The EP will be released on XX.3.2021 via Munich Warehouse.

@

fbpx

SPEAKING INTO EXISTENCE EP

Calvin Stone ist ein 31-Jähriger US-amerikanischer Hip Hop Künstler aus Columbus, Ohio. Michi Dreilich ist ein 29-Jähriger Schlagzeuger und Beatmaker aus München. Das Duo begann Anfang Juni 2020, nach dem Mord an George Flyod und den darauffolgende Protesten, zusammen Musik zu machen um die Ereignisse in einem Song zu verarbeiten. THE WATER wurde als erster gemeinsamer Track am 31.7.2020 über Munich Warehouse veröffentlicht. Es folgte mit THE BELLS (VÖ 23.10.2020) eine zweite und mit PRESSURE (VÖ 4.12.2020) erschien nun die dritte Single der amerikanisch-deutschen Zusammenarbeit.
Kennengelernt haben sich die beiden im Jahre 2017 über YouTube. Geboren und aufgewachsen in Columbus Ohio, wird Stone beeinflusst von einer Realität aus Drogenmissbrauch und Waffengewalt und findet in der Musik und im Texten eine Möglichkeit das Gesehene zu verarbeiten und lässt dem Zuhören mit seiner Berichterstattung und interessanten Wortspielen kaum eine Möglichkeit wegzuhören.
Neben seiner Haupttätigkeit als Sessionmusiker und festes Mitglied der deutschen alternative Rock Band Blackout Problems wurden nun Michi Dreilich’s Beats, die in Studios, Proberäumen oder als Sprach Memos seinen Ursprung finden, zum Leben erweckt und mit Calvin Stone’s Vocals vollendet. Schnell wurde ein gemeinsamer Vibe geformt und die rhythmisch auf den Punkt gebrachte und dringliche Rhymes von Calvin fanden ihren Platz auf schnörkellosen und verzerrten Sample Beats. Produziert und gemischt wurde von Bandkollege Mario Radetzky (Songwriter / Producer / Blackout Problems).

Der Titel der EP lautet speaking into existence. Was es noch nicht gibt, wird erschaffen. Es gibt keine Grenzen. Weder in Bezug auf Genres, Instrumente oder Kontinente. Obwohl die Entfernung groß ist und zu zeiten Coronas unüberwindbar scheint, will man mit dieser Collaboration zeigen dass einem gemeinsamen kreativen Arbeiten kein Einreiseverbot etwas entgegensetzen kann. Sobald es wieder guten Gewissens machbar ist steht eine kleine Deutschland / Europa Tour auf der Wishlist des Duos. Ein weitere Sache die gerade undenkbar scheint aber vielleicht doch irgendwann möglich sein wird. Die EP erscheint am XX.3.2021 via Munich Warehouse.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

@