fbpx

blackout problems

Give up control, eyes closed and full of energy into the Kaos! Two years after their debut, Blackout Problems dare to look inside and show themselves as a musically and personally grown alternative rock band that listens to the emotional extreme situations of a life between a long tour and an artistic struggle for liberation every second. Their new album "Kaos" now sets the moment of departure into the unknown to music in spherical guitar surfaces and lyrics, closely followed by constant resignation and doubt. The second everything collapses. And new things are born.

Blackout Problems Shopping Now!

An end or a separation can either lead to positive change or tear you into an abyss. "Kaos" has developed in intense and unsteady life situations. It is a cathartic attempt to gain courage from even the most negative feelings, like the song "Kontrol", a deeply sad ballad that gets under your skin and turns into a powerful anthem for the painful but purifying process of letting go. Screamed out with "You make me lose control" and with it a door opener into the heart of the "Kaos".

The Tormenting Insecurity is part of the development that every band member of Blackout Problems has personally gone through over the last few years, as singer Mario himself describes: "'Kaos' is when your foundation crumbles and things get out of hand. Writing the album has torn us apart on some days, but has also shown us how pleasant the view into our innermost can be".

"You make me lose control"

blackout problems

The musical development was absolutely self-sufficient: no genre was simply copied, each song eludes the usual categorizations. Atmospheric guitars mill their way into the long-term memory of every Alexisonfire or Being As An Ocean fan, heavy melancholy gives rise to hot cold goose pimples, the balancing act between headiness and catchiness is on the level of the alternative greats Biffy Clyro. The driving "Queen", for example, is predestined for sweaty club moshpits, while the single "Kaos" builds up almost three minutes of trance before the song begins to explode. Representing the quiet side of the album, not only "Holly" does without escalation completely and unfolds its effect through wide sound surfaces alone. In the end, never-before-heard alternative rock stands between wide tension arcs, post-hardcore-influenced force, piano melancholy and electronic feedback sounds - an equally passionately torn and coldly disillusioned outcry.

"Kaos" is the second album of Blackout Problems and will be released on 15.06.2018 on the band's own label Munich Warehouse in cooperation with Cargo Records. Already the 2016 released debut "Holy" hit directly into the Top 50 of the German album charts and ended in sold out, sweaty concerts at the album release tour, performances at Pro7 Circus Halligalli, BR Puls Startrampe or the Rocket Beans. Support tours for Heisskalt, Jennifer Rostock, Apologies, I Have None and Royal Republic followed. In addition there were countless festival appearances, features Boysetsfire frontman Nathan Gray and electro inventor Christian Löffler. The "Intimate" christened warm-up tour in May 2018 was sold out within a few minutes. Further dates and an extended headline tour through Germany, Austria and Switzerland will follow in summer and autumn 2018.

Like on the previous album "Holy", whose cover is adorned by the burnt down Brighton-Pier, the band again decided for "Kaos" to visualize their album with the representation of abnormal architecture. The Neviges pilgrimage cathedral near Velbert disturbs on the inside pages of the booklet and embedded in the front artwork with its abstract forms and the coarse, subcooled corpus. The brutalistic architectural concept reflects the hard process of the band's confrontation with their own demons.

@

fbpx

Blackout Problems

Kontrolle abgeben, Augen zu und mit voller Energie hinein ins Kaos! Blackout Problems wagen zwei Jahre nach ihrem Debüt den Blick nach innen und zeigen sich als musikalisch wie persönlich gewachsenen Alternative-Rock Band der man die emotionalen Extremsituationen eines Lebens zwischen Dauer-Tour und künstlerischem Befreiungskampf zu jeder Sekunde anhört. Ihr neues Album „Kaos“ vertont nun in sphärischen Gitarrenflächen und Texten den Moment des Aufbruchs ins Unbekannte, dicht gefolgt von ständiger Resignation und Zweifel. Die Sekunde, in der alles in sich zusammenfällt. Und Neues entsteht.

Blackout Problems jetzt shoppen!

Ein Ende oder eine Trennung kann entweder in positive Veränderung münden oder Dich in einen Abgrund reißen. “Kaos” ist in intensiven und unsteten Lebenssituationen entstanden. Es ist der kathartische Versuch, selbst negativsten Gefühlen etwas Mut machendes abzugewinnen, wie der unter die Haut gehende Song „Kontrol“, eine tieftraurige Ballade, die sich im Recoringprozess zu einer kraftvollen Hymne für den schmerzhaften, aber reinigenden Prozess des Loslassens wandelt. Herausgeschrien mit „You make me lose control“ und damit ein Türöffner hinein in das Herz des “Kaos”.

Die Quälende Unsicherheit gehört zur Entwicklung, die jedes Bandmitglied von Blackout Problems auch persönlich in den letzten Jahren durchgemacht hat, wie Sänger Mario selbst beschreibt: „‚Kaos‘ ist, wenn dein Fundament bröckelt und die Dinge aus der Norm geraten. Das Album zu schreiben hat uns an manchen Tagen innerlich zerfetzt aber uns auch gezeigt, wie wohltuend der Blick in unser Innerstes sein kann”

„You make me lose control“

Blackout Problems

Die musikalische Weiterentwicklung geschah dabei absolut autark: Kein Genre wurde einfach kopiert, jeder Song entzieht sich üblichen Kategorisierungen. Atmosphärische Gitarren fräsen sich ins Langzeitgedächtnis jedes Alexisonfire- oder Being As An Ocean-Fans, schwere Melancholie lässt Heisskalt-Gänsehaut aufkommen, der Spagat zwischen Verkopftheit und Eingängigkeit ist auf dem Level der Alternative-Größen Biffy Clyro. Das treibende „Queen“ etwa ist prädestiniert für schwitzige Club-Moshpits, während die Single „Kaos“ fast drei Minuten Trance aufbaut, bevor der Song zu explodieren beginnt. Stellvertretend für die ruhige Seite des Albums verzichtet nicht nur „Holly“ ganz auf Eskalation und entfaltet allein durch weite Soundflächen seine Wirkung. Am Ende steht so noch nie gehörter Alternative Rock zwischen weiten Spannungsbögen, Post- Hardcore-beeinflusster Wucht, Klavier-Melancholie und elektronischen Feedback-Sounds – ein gleichermaßen leidenschaftlich zerrissener und kalt desillusionierter Aufschrei.

“Kaos” ist das zweite Album von Blackout Problems und erscheint am 15.06.2018 auf dem Bandeigenen Label Munich Warehouse in Zusammenarbeit mit Cargo Records. Bereits das 2016 erschienene Debut „Holy“ schlug direkt in die Top 50 der deutschen Albumcharts ein und mündete in ausverkauften, schweißtreibenden Konzerten bei der Album-Release-Tour, Auftritten bei Pro7 Circus Halligalli, BR Puls Startrampe oder den Rocket Beans. Es folgten Support-Touren für Heisskalt, Jennifer Rostock, Apologies, I Have None und Royal Republic. Dazu kamen zahllose Festival-Auftritte, Features Boysetsfire-Frontmann Nathan Gray sowie Electro-Tüftler Christian Löffler. Die “Intimate” getaufte warm-up Tour im Mai 2018 war innerhalb weniger Minuten ausverkauft. Weitere Termine und eine ausgedehnte Headline-Tour durch Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz folgen im Sommer und Herbst 2018.

Wie schon auf dem Vorgängeralbum “Holy”, dessen Cover der niedergebrannte Brighton-Pier ziert, entschied sich die Band für “Kaos” erneut für die Darstellung abnormer Architektur, um ihr Album zu visualisieren. Der Nevigeser Wallfahrtsdom in der Nähe von Velbert verstört auf den Innenseiten des Booklets und eingebettet im Frontartwork mit seinen abstrakten Formen und dem groben, unterkühlten Korpus. Das brutalistische architektonische Konzept spiegelt den harten Prozess der Auseinandersetzung der Band mit ihren eigenen Dämonen.

@